In the year 1887, the "Museum of Ore Mountain Antiquities" (Museum erzgebirgischer Alterthümer) opened its doors and in 1905 it was renamed the "Ore Mountains Museum" (Erzgebirgsmuseum). The collection contains historic artifacts and documents from the history of the city of Annaberg-Bucholz and the Upper Ore Mountains.
The exhibit is dedicated to mining, sacred art of the Late Middle Ages, and the old handcraft of the pewterers, potters, and passementerie makers. It also displays bobbin lace, carvings, and historic weapons. Care is also given to show how peasants and citizens lived at the time.
In the museum's courtyard, the entrance to the "Im Gößner" silver mine offers the unique opportunity to get an inside look at the flourishing silver mine that was located under the Annaberg historic district around the year 1500.